Treasury updates high risk jurisdictions list

Treasury has updated its AML advisory notice on high risk jurisdictions. The UK is introducing legislation that will define high risk third countries and will replicate the FATF list, in place of referencing the EU MLD4 list. There is no change in Iran and the DPRK as countries in relation to which countermeasures and EDD apply, and the other high risk countries are Albania, Barbados, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Ghana, Jamaica, Mauritius, Morocco, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Panama, Senegal, Syria, Uganda, Yemen, Zimbabwe. Active financial sanctions regimes also apply to a number of these jurisdictions.

Emma Radmore