EU to amend high risk third countries list

The European Commission has published a draft Regulation to amend the MLD list of high risk third countries. It proposes to:

  • add to the list: Burkina Faso, Cayman Islands, Haiti, Jordan, Mali, Morocco, the Phillippines, Senegal and South Sudan; and
  • delete from the list: the Bahamas, Botswana, Ghana, Iraq and Mauritius

The changes mirror FATF decisions during 2021, except that the EU does not propose to add Tukey to the list, and is additionally removing the Bahamas and Iraq.

Emma Radmore